Calling All Cheese Lovers!

Each pleasure in life has its own unique sensation. For some, we sense it immediately, whilst for others, we just enjoy the moment and add that particular memory to our range of life experiences for a reason that we are unable to truly grasp until a later time.
When we eat, we sense pleasure through our senses- eyes, tongue, hands, and/or smell. But, when we share our stories, memories and traditions with our loved ones, we tap into a different, deeper feeling. Both experiences offer us pleasure, but each has its own way of giving us that special tingle.

Though the question of why these activities offer us joy remains an enigma to the majority of us, it is a mystery that we continuously savour with keen earnest anyway.

One of our main steps in the project that my daughter and I work on together, to reach fulfilment and happiness, was to find a way to experience both pleasures- eating tasty food and sharing family traditions. I wanted to pass on to my daughter the wisdom I had been given by my own mother- a delight in all things food, meaning, all things cheese.

Cheese has always been like salt and pepper in my family since one of my ancestors had the ingenious idea of tasting a little piece of that rich yellow stuff. The excitement for making, cooking, melting, baking and eating cheese has long been a part of my own family tradition. I have glitter-dusted childhood memories of family festivities, a special time of anticipation and excitement for my siblings and I for the custom of making homemade melted cheese, then dusting them with sugar and cinnamon. They barely lasted long enough for my parents to eat them.

This cheese-loving obsession was celebrated by my parents, and is now celebrated by my daughter and I too. Since I started passing on that tradition to my daughter, our schedules have become filled up by embarrassingly cheese-related events. We have slowly but steadily been building up plans for the adventure, indulgement, exploration and enjoyment of all things cheese, from all around the world. We have visited markets, fromageries, exhibitions, and even organised family get-together cheese parties to satisfy our seemingly-unending appetite for cheese. Day by day, our knowledge (and love) for cheese grew bigger and bigger, and, at the same time, our link to each other grew stronger and stronger.

So, you might ask, what on earth have you been eating?!

Some suggestions for you from our “Cheese-to-die-for” list:

  • Hushållsost (creamy and mild, sweet) and Herrgård (Hard and Vintage, salty), both from Sweden.
  • Gruyère, from Switzerland (a hard cheese, with a unique nutty-like taste)
  • Comté, from France (Hard, rich and with a salty-sweet taste, less subtle than Gruyère)
  • Tête de Moine, from Switzerland (a wonderfully soft, melt-in-the-mouth creamy taste)
  • Halloumi from Cyprus (A salty, white cheese, firm and light)
  • Gouda from Holland (light, creamy and sweet)

Say “cheese!” and join our bewitching love for cheese by sending us some of your favourite cheeses (and, if you can, where we can find them!!).